Skip to content
Things I dislike about Thailand…

THIS IS A TRANSLATED VERSION OF THIS SWEDISH POST!
This post was written (somewhat edited) in November 2012, and posted on my previous Onsugar-blog.
  
I’ve decided to share with all of you what I like the most of my new home country, and what I like the least. Today I will share what I dislike about Thailand. Start with the bad news, or so to speak. I’m sure I will want to add things as time pass by, but this is how the list looks today.
  
lovehate

This is what I don’t like with my new home country Thailand:
  

  • Thais don’t really understand the importance of the environmental issues; they don’t realise they too have a responsibility not throwing their crap everywhere.
  •  

  • It’s a very corrupt country, from top to bottom.
  •  

  • There is a lot of bureaucracy for nothing; surely about 50 years behind Sweden.
  •  

  • Too many tourists taking advantage of the locals.
  •  

  • Too many locals taking advantage of the tourists.
  •  

  • Thais don’t like confrontations or conflicts.
  •  

  • All preconceptions about everything and anything.
  •  

  • Thais’ knowledge about the world can be very limited.
  •  

  • The lack of respect for traffic rules, or laws in general.
  •  

  • The nonchalance; sometimes the idle lifestyle can turn into not caring at all.
  •  

  • All the neglected dogs and cats on the streets.
  •  

  • Thais sometimes treat animals with great disrespect. (added 120220)
  •  

  • Thais think it’s ok to use corporal punishment as a way of raising their children. (added 120220)
  •  

  • Thais think it’s ok to hit misbehaving dogs (and all animals for that matter). (added 120220)
  •  

  • Pad Thai – the number one dish all farangs are supposed to like!
  •  

  • The fact I never get enough chili in my food, simply because I’m not Thai. (added 120220)
  •  

  • The constant use of the word “farang” instead of my name. Last time I checked I did have one. (added 120220)
  •   

    I’d like to make a point here – these are all generalisations I’m making here. There are Thai people not fitting my judgmental biased opinions, but there are also those who do.
      

    Next time you’ll see what I love about this country (believe it or not there are actually things I love), and hopefully you’ll have a greater understanding why I want to live here permanently! 😉

