Life in Nakhon Ratchasihma a k a Korat

THIS IS A TRANSLATED VERSION OF THIS SWEDISH POST!

korat4

The Moon was particularly beautiful in Korat…

  

A short resume of our eventful (eeeh what now?) days in Korat!
  

We arrived in Korat a warm, late afternoon last Tuesday. The VIP-bus from Bangkok was so-so, and it took an awfully long time. Stopping everywhere and nowhere. Not one of these lovely 24 seats VIP-buses we usually go with when travelling to Koh Samui, neither. There is no such bus between Korat and Bangkok, so we simply had to get on a regular VIP-bus with 40 seats. But, it did have AC and it’s bad to be too spoiled.
  

You can go on a sightseeing tour even in the countryside, right?
  

Oh’s aunt had come to pick us up. She lives 30 km outside of Korat. Hm, and I’d seen plenty of fun malls upon arrival. That sucked! Well, well, I thought naively, I could always go to the big city sometime, another day, after all we were staying for several days.
  

When we finally arrived to the house I realised that the big city of Korat (Nakhon Ratchasihma) was too far away for a bike ride, and the family didn’t own a car, so I managed to figure out – all on my own – there’d be no shopping or even sightseeing on my behalf.
  

Paisha – so happy to see me!!!!
  

But all of my displeasure disappeared as soon as I set eyes on little Paisha, who at first barked at Oh and me. She barks a whole lot, and especially when she sees people she doesn’t recognise are getting close. As I got closer and started talking to her she quickly came running – jumped up in my arms, although I was standing straight, and licked me all over my face and was whining and didn’t know how to behave. Now finally the terror was over, the farang had returned! πŸ™‚ Paisha was overwhelmed with joy, and I felt so happy and warm in my heart that someone had missed me so much (always good for your ego to have a loving dog around). Oh’s grandmother was also happy to see us, although she didn’t jump up into my lap, and even though it’s only been a couple of months since we last saw her, she looked so much older and pretty weak. She is really sick, so she’s not her usual outgoing self.

korat5

Paisha – the sweetest dog…

  

Oh’s aunt is called Jom (Aajom = aunt Jom) and she’s the same age as me. πŸ˜€ Her husband works in Bangkok as a silversmith (possibly working with gold too, our conversational level is not that high), and together they share a really sweet son called Jeng. These are not their real names, because Thai people don’t usually use their real, given names in an everyday situation, instead they all have nicknames. This is a most confusing thing, for me, since I don’t really understand where the nicknames come from. I will write more about this another time, because that is a post on its own.

korat7
  

Aa, Bpaa or maybe even Naa?
  

In Thailand people are very eager to use “titles”, so you don’t just call your aunt by her name Jom (I mean if that’s her name, of course), but you say Aajom, which means “younger paternal aunt Jom”; if she’s a paternal aunt older than your dad she’s not to be called Aa, but Bpaa. Maternal aunt is called Naa. So you need to have your family’s relationship in order to address your people right!
  

korat10korat8korat9 korat11

Cooking… and some poor old chicken had to sacrifice its life for me… T_T The boys are watching eagerly, but probably not to learn cooking, because that’s really women’s work! So far, if you’re to believe everyone who claims that Thai men are worthless, it seems the only man cooking in Thailand is my fiancee, apparantly, … πŸ˜‰

  

Hey! Look at me! I’m so interesting and beautiful! πŸ˜‰
  

The first evening was especially interesting, since the whole village was outside watching me – the farang woman who just arrived! Sure yes, they had seen farang men before, in fact there were actually 2 farang men who had married 2 women from the village, so the spend some time there now and again, and there were actually some other farang men living a bit further away, but never a woman! This was so exciting! The children wasn’t as shy as the grown ups (although I wouldn’t call standing outside and staring at another person particularly shy, but anyway!) – they entered the house. But I didn’t really mind all the commotion, I’m used to it by now. It’s always nice to be interesting, and I know they don’t mean any harm, they’re just curious. And who could blame them – I do look kind of funny! πŸ˜‰
  

Day 2 Oh’s second aunt Joo (Aajoo) arrived with her 2 kids; Owen and Um. Owen got his nickname in honor of the very famous fotball player. What his real name is I have no idea, that’s a rather uninteresting detail when you hang around with Thai people, and my fiancee usually don’t have the slightest what real names his friends and family hide in their closets, although I don’t know if this ignorance is something normal, neither. πŸ˜‰
  

Heatwave? No, it’s just 40 degrees Celsius (104 Fahrenheit) during the daytime and 25 Celsius (77 Fahrenheit) during the night time… Not too bad, now is it?
  

Day 3 I also realised that it was terribly hot in this small village. Thailand is getting incredibly hot this time of year now anyway – April is their hottest month if memory serves me correct, and I’m starting to hyperventilate more and more, like the old lady I am. But in this village there were no wind – it was completely dead calm – and we had no AC indoors; it might be unnecessary to mention, although they’re planning to install one as soon as the second floor is completed, so it might not be unnecessary to mention after all. These table and floor fans people are using everywhere simply whisk the air around and if the air is scalding hot to begin with then it’s also scalding hot when it’s whisked around. Even though providing the illusion of a breeze.
  

Knocked out like a seal I was laying limp on the floor wishing the time to pass quicker… and quicker… and finally closer to my death!
  

During the days in Korat I couldn’t muster up any energy to do anything, but I don’t think I was any more knocked out than the rest of the family, in spite of my chilly heritage. What did bother me though, was that I didn’t even have the energy to write, or take photos; it was so hot I wasn’t able to deal with anything, let alone think. AND no one else wanted to anything either. Because it was too hot. Lying flat on my back (no pun intended) and not doing anything just waiting for time to pass, felt incredibly frustrating when I knew I only had a few more days left in Thailand. And not being able to speak properly with the people I was around didn’t make it better, either.
  

My days passed basically like this:

  • wake up
  • get up
  • take a cold shower
  • eat a bit
  • play with Paisha
  • lounging in the hammock until the sun entered the front of the house where the hammock is located
  • take a cold shower
  • play with Paisha
  • eat a bit
  • play some games on the iPad or listen to an audio book, if I could muster up the strength, if not then just lie like a seal on the cool stone floor inside the house
  • play with Paisha
  • take a cold shower
  • watch some movies when it’s cooler in the room
  • sleep

Very inspiring. πŸ™‚
  

korat6

Β Oh in the hammock!

  

One day I was in a particularly adventureous mood, and also needed to pay a visit to the pharmacy a mere 3 hour ride away (r/t), so I forced the poor Thaiguy to take the bike and ride away on adventures. It was about lunchtime, so I had a devious plan in mind – I might even get some tan while on the road. Well howdy hoe! None of us were in a good mood when we returned to the house. It was a trip among the worst I ever experienced before. Not even a bike ride gave any breeze!

korat1 korat3

So, Korat is a nice place, although the small village I visited where they’ve never seen a farang woman before was not so much. But I believe/I know it would’ve been a lot nicer had it not been so hot, and it’s never wrong to visit your family. Or your dog. πŸ™‚ So I definitely will go back soon.

