Angkor Wat is just a bunch of moderate buildings, right?

cambodia4

The magnificient Angkor Wat

A couple of days before I left Thailand, about a month ago, I went to a hair dresser in Bangkok to take care of the horrible disaster my hair had turned into. The sun and the salty water (hey, I never went to the beach…) don’t treat your hair too nicely.

 

Anyhooo, there was this older lady sitting there when I entered. A farang, just like me. She asked me for advice regarding hair colour; she wanted to make sure she got rid of her grays, and she wanted to turn into a blonde, cute little thing – but under no circumstances were they to bleach her hair, and not too much blonde either. Just the right amount would be enough. She seemed like a harmless old lady, very easily satisfied. 😉

 

I helped her to choose between 2 different colours; 2 very similar colours in my opinion, and while sitting there getting pampered we spoke a bit. I’m not the most social person in the world (you don’t say???), I prefer sitting by myself with my computer in my lap, but I managed to politely answer some of the questions. And even compose my own questions too. I was so proud.

 

The lady was a retired American woman in her seventies, and she worked, although retired, as an English teacher in Siem Reap, Cambodia. I was enthused to hear she was living in Siem Reap, so I enthusiastically asked her if she visited Angkor Wat often – like every day. Angkor Wat is one of the most magical places I’ve ever seen!

 
cambodia3

 

She sighed somewhat dramatically and shrugged. ”No, if I’m to be completely honest I think I’ve only been there the one time.”

 

cambodia1The Bayon

 

I just stared at her. Completely in shock. This woman, who lived on a permanent basis in Siem Reap, where you have one of the world’s wonders, was sitting here completely blase about this fact. Incredibly incredible!

 

When I was studying in Granada, Spain, I visited Alhambra 3 times in 6 weeks, and I thought that was too few visits. I almost felt ashamed returning home, not having visited the masterpiece more times.

 

spanien6

The Alhambra in Granada, Spain

 

To turn blind of the magic in all of your familiar surroundings is human; but it doesn’t mean that’s the way it should be!

 

There is a tendency to turn blind on all your familiar surroundings, no matter what wonders you have around you, if you spend enough time in one place. Of course, this also affects me. I rarely visit our own marvellous “wonders” hiding in my surroundings here back home in Sweden, and believe it or not, there are wonders around you everywhere. You just have to notice them, to look upon your surroundings with “new” eyes. Every day.

 

Of course there are different views on what is interesting and what is beautiful, magical etc. There are those who travel to Cambodia just to smoke weed, for instance, and don’t even have the time to see Angkor Wat, because there are so many different kinds of weed…

 

cambodia2

 

Anyway, I do feel that everybody should be at least a little bit interested in the human history, but I respect that not everyone loves old buildings and ruins the way I do. I surely hope though I’ll never become so blase as the lady at the hair dresser’s, because then I demand someone to please hit me in the head with something really hard. To live that close to Angkor Wat and never visit it is outrageous, and there are no excuses in the world justifying not respecting or esteeming such wonders.

 

IMO. 😉 What do YOU think?

 

One thought on “Angkor Wat is just a bunch of moderate buildings, right?

Comments are closed.