Life as Me

Another year over, say goodbye to 2014, pt 1

THIS POST IS ALSO AVAILABLE IN SWEDISH!

Well, well, another year over and this is my summary of 2014, which thanks to the latter part of the year was one of my best year, actually. 2014 – the year following one incredibly empty 2013.

 

So, what ever happened during this last year?

  • I decided to end my longtime long distance relationship with Oh in Thailand.
  • I realised I don’t really want to live abroad, but I want to travel enormously, so I gave up my plans of moving to Thailand, and decided to find me a home here. Without feeling any resentment over my decision, but on the contrary – feeling joy.
  • I met THE MAN, and so many pieces of the non-fitting of the puzzle suddenly fit! I regained my joy for life and started to hang out with my friends again. Finally.

 

How did last year’s resolutions go?

  • Take at least 1 photo a day during 1 year, like a 365-project. Instagram it! I made it about half the year, but as I returned to working onboard with sporadic internet, my devotion fell as surely as a house of cards. 
  • Set aside more time to write. No, that didn’t really work out, not really no. 
  • Set aside more time to do things which makes me feel good. This is something I absolutely have followed through, and as a result I feel much better now. Or if it’s simply a result of someone else I’m not really sure… 
  • Make sure I can provide for myself on my business when autumn’s here. This was a resolution I made because I wanted to move from Sweden, but I haven’t really worked that hard for it. However, things have started to work out by themselves without anything I did, which is awesome.
  • Live more healthy (= eat better food, don’t drink so fracking much coke, and move your ass, goddammit!!) This is something I managed to do quite well during the year. This summer I turned vegetarian, this autumn I quit drinking coke (now my coke habits are more sporadic than obsessive) and as a result I’ve lost 7 kg! I’ve bought a bike and have actually used it to and from work a couple of times, but I don’t really move around too much.  
  • Be my best self! This is something I always strive for. Always be my best me and always choose the best way to go, even if it’s the hardest one! I have to admit I didn’t always go with this choice during 2014, but I was more aware about the question.

 

Month by month of the year 2014…

 

January:

  • The year started out pretty dull – just like my heart and my mind – nothing was ok.
  • I made my New Year Resolutions (above).
  • I started a “One photo a day” challenge on Instagram, which I managed to keep alive quite many days, although not all the way…
  • I once again started working at JobCenter – Stena Line’s manning centre, and I enjoyed it. Unfortunately I noticed pretty quickly my broken neck didn’t like quite that much so the whole spring was characterised by ridiculously many sick days.

 

januari-IMG_2033My cat boys, the brothers Milo & Miso, who got the honour of becoming my best Instagram photo 2013.

 

February:

  • Don’t remember one iota about this month.
  • It was dark when I left home for work and it was dark when I came home.

 

20140202_059-7A winter day on the country side: Gökås, Trönninge. My home at my mother’s place.

 

March:

  • Neither do I remember another iota about this month…

20140323_066-42

20140315_064-4

20140315_063-39The lambs born in January played in the beautiful spring weather.

 

April:

  • My beloved Gustaf disappeared for 2 weeks. I had to pick him up, broken and lifeless from the motor way and buried him in our grave for our fourlegged friends who no longer are with us. He left a gigantic empty hole in my heart.

 

gussi

IMG_2765

IMG_2766Here rests Gustaf… 

 

May:

  • I was completely stressed out about all things I’d left in Thailand which needed to be dealt with… and to be finished.

 

20140504_073-40-4My handsome Milo.

 

 

June:

  • The last month working at the office. Sad, but I also looked forward getting back to life onboard.
  • There was a strike for about a month, which meant I had to take my mother’s car to work every day and because of this I finally got to visit Ölmevalla church and get a photograph. The church is however, much more beautiful in sunset.

 

20140617_080-13-BW

 

to be continued…

